[bf1942] Verification required for whoccares at comcast.net, protected by 0Spam.com.

Rick Thompson fortweb at fortweb.com
Sat Mar 20 09:28:20 EST 2004

I tried to discuss this rationally a few weeks ago but was shouted down for 
bringing up the reality of it.

The reason we see this over and over and over again on this list is because 
of the way it operates. People are used to majordomo because it has been 
the standard for mailing lists forever. Nothing wrong with this software 
but most people are automatically going to assume it's majordomo and 
whitelist icculus.org.

There will be the occasional clueless idiot who uses a protected email 
without whitelisting at all and then wonder why they never get any mail. 
The majority of them are not ignorant rookies though, they will whitelist 
icculus.org, find the error quickly and correct it. Nobody whitelists 
"Mailing-List:" anymore because it whitelists a large number of spammers.

As long as you guys use this software instead of majordomo we might as well 
get used to seeing this because it is going to continue to happen often. I 
don't know if you can config it to use a list domain instead of the senders 
but that is the only thing that would prevent it. The simple fact of the 
matter is that people use this stuff for spam protection and there is 
nothing anyone can do about that.

Before I get accused of being off topic again or slammed just for bringing 
up the obvious, let me say that I don't care what your take on spam or 
spamprotection is. The question of 0spam type services being effective is 
not relevant. People use it and because mailman functions differently than 
majordomo, we are going to have to get used to seeing that reply.

There *are* several solutions however.

1. Kill every spammer out there (preferably with a claw hammer, starting at 
the ankles).
This solution is not very realistic but it does give me a warm feeling 
inside to think about.

2. Adopt an auto-cancel policy when seeing that subject. This would not be 
real effective because the person would just signup again not even knowing 
what went wrong. I am aware there are people out there who think of this 
option as the best solution but I am confident more rational minds would 
not consider it.

3. Put a big notice at the top of the list signup response with "NOTICE TO 
SPAM PROTECTION USERS" that tells people email will be coming from the 
senders address and not to whitelist just the icculus.org domain.

This is probably the most practical solution and I think the majority of 
people would get it right the first time.


At 01:32 AM 3/20/2004 -0500, you wrote:

>On Tue, 2004-03-16 at 22:52, Neal Clayton wrote:
> > Can we PLEASE get these people yanked from the list?  They're spamming
> > each of us individually with this crap each time a message goes out from
> > the list.
> >
> >  whoccares at comcast.net, please remove this person and if you see him in
> > real life break his fingers to keep him away from any and all computers
> > or something.
>fwiw, even after jumping through the spam-verification hoops, I didn't
>get a response from the whoccares account owner, so I removed him from
>the list manually.
>I don't have any intention of breaking his fingers, but if you happen to
>be reading that account still and want to be on the list, please
>resubscribe from an account that doesn't auto-respond to each list post.
>Incoming mail is certified Virus Free.
>Checked by AVG anti-virus system (http://www.grisoft.com).
>Version: 6.0.611 / Virus Database: 391 - Release Date: 3/3/2004
-------------- next part --------------

Outgoing mail is certified Virus Free.
Checked by AVG anti-virus system (http://www.grisoft.com).
Version: 6.0.611 / Virus Database: 391 - Release Date: 3/3/2004

More information about the Bf1942 mailing list